Saturday, 4 February 2017

IRAN: American Citizens Barred From Visiting Iran In Retaliation To President Trump's Decree On Travel To USA

Iran seeks to lift visa restrictions with a number of countries in an effort to help boost the mutual tourism ties with the target countries.

The country plans to abolish visas for travelers from 36 countries, including tourists from Russia, said Iranian Vice President for Cultural Heritage and Tourism Zahra Ahmadipour.

A full list of countries is not named yet.

Currently, Russians who plan to visit Iran are obliged to obtain entry visas in advance in the consular department of the Iranian Embassy in Moscow. The term of visa issuance is less than 10 days, the fee is €35.

In July 2016, Iran increased its visa on arrival extension from 1 month to 3 months, while citizens of 190 countries can obtain visa on arrival at the country’s airports with one-month validation.

Also, the citizens of Turkey, Lebanon, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Bolivia, Egypt, Syria and Armenia can travel to Iran and stay in the country without visa from 15 to 90 days under the visa requirement regulations.

Meanwhile, the Iranian Foreign Ministry declared that for now, American citizens will be barred from entering their country.

The Islamic Republic announced that they have decided to bar Americans from entering their territory in response to US President Trump’s new decree to halt the entry of citizens from 7 majority Muslim countries including Iran.

“The ban is a clear insult to the Islamic world and especially to the wonderful Iranian nation,” the Iranian side said.
Post a Comment